What HITRUST is all about: Get thorough insights

What is HITRUST? 

The Health Information Trust Alliance refers to HITRUST. It establishes in 2007 and supports businesses from all industries using the “HITRUST method.” Particularly managing data, information risk, and compliance in the healthcare industry.

Vendors and entities can prove compliance thanks to certification from the HITRUST Alliance. HIPAA regulations HIPAA regulations



HITRUST aims to give the healthcare industry a choice about information risk management through a matrix. The third-party assurance evaluations in the hopes of streamlining and minimising. In some circumstances, completely removing the need for multiple reports. This design feature is known as “evaluate once, report often”, according to HITRUST.

HITRUST CSF Certification

The HITRUST Common Security Framework (CSF) evaluation uses as a road map for data security and compliance by organisations that create access, store, or exchange sensitive information. Unlike a rules method, the CSF structure favours an approach to organisational security. The HITRUST CSF assurance programme includes elements from security standards, including ISO, NIST, PCI, and HIPAA.

How to become HITRUST certified?


A comprehensive information risk management and compliance programme offer to companies through what HITRUST refers to as the “HITRUST approach.” Information risk management and compliance objectives support an organisation’s security and compliance requirements.

A third-party evaluation is necessary for certification. The size and the quantity of guidance affect how long the assessment takes. After an examination is complete, the certification procedure may continue for an additional 6 weeks.

Cost of the HITRUST CSF

It’s essential to realise that anyone can access the CSF without charge. Anyone can download the HITRUST CSF and use it in their own organisation to achieve many different goals. It is a great resource for knowing how different information security frameworks relate to or “map” to one another.

The Basic, Current-state (BC) Assessment of HITRUST. 

The HITRUST (BC) Assessment offers the lowest confidence level and takes the least effort. This assessment is complete with a low degree of effort. It may consider a CAIQ substitute, a product of the Cloud Security Alliance. Finally, there is no certification connecting the Bc. To find out more about the BC evaluation, go to the website.

The 1-Year (i1) Validated Assessment + Certification for HITRUST Implementation (As of 2022, new)


This assessment is regarded as one of the industry’s “best practices for cases with medium risk.” Whenever the BC evaluation does not offer enough security and the r2 assessment does not make sense. According to the i1 assessment is a risk, which means that requirements are added and removed to handle the constantly changing threat landscape. Unlike the legacy, the i1 evaluation will use a static set of controls. 

According to HITRUST, the number of efforts involving the i1 assessment is “moderate. The i1 requires much more work than standard information security audits like SOC 2, ISO 27001, or PCI. A valid readiness assessment conducts by the i1 or by a third-party assessor organisation, and HITRUST issue a certification.

The 2-Year (r2) Risk-based Validated Assessment + Certification from HITRUST.

Nothing changes other than the name. This is still the legacy HITRUST CSF Valid Assessment. The r2 evaluation continues the assessment that determines size by considering scoping considerations. A high level of certainty is necessary in high-risk situations. As the most challenging and extensive assessment in the field, the r2 assessment is five times the work of the i1. We consider FedRAMP the most comparable. However, their scopes and levels of analysis are not comparable. R2 conducts a readiness assessment in the same way that i1 does. With a successful interim assessment at one year, the r2 is valid for two years.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button